Chinese authorities have imposed lockdown measures on 6 cities, meaning residents cant’t leave, to try and stop the Coronavirus spreading.

Authorities banned transport links from Wuhan, the capital of Hubei province, on Thursday morning, suspending buses, subways, ferries, and shutting the airport and train stations to outgoing passengers. Later in the day, the nearby central Chinese cities of Huanggang and Ezhou announced similar measures. Travel restrictions were also placed on the smaller cities of Chibi and Zhijiang.

It is expected the lockdown affects around 18 million people. 

There have been 650 confirmed cases of the virus so far with ten patients being treated outside of China.

Airports worldwide are screening passengers arriving from China with the US warning travellers to exercise increased caution in China.