The Yardbirds have re-hatched with a revamped lineup.  The British Invasion band’s founding drummer Jim McCarty announced in December that the then-current version of the group would be parting ways at the end of the year, and now The Yardbirds’ reconfigured roster has been unveiled.

Anthony “Top” Topham, who served as The Yardbirds’ original lead guitarist in 1963 and rejoined the group in 2013, will continue on as a member of the band along with McCarty.  Meanwhile, singer/guitarist John Idan, who played with the band from 1992 to 2009, has been brought back into the fold.  Rounding out the updated lineup are two new members — bassist Kenny Aaronson and singer/harmonica player/percussionist Myke Scavone.  Aaronson is a journeyman musician who has recorded and/or toured with Bob Dylan, Billy Idol, Billy Squier, Foghat, Dave Edmunds, Rick Derringer, Joan Jett and many others.  Scavone is best-known as the lead singer of the late-’70s rock group Ram Jam.

As the latest chapter in The Yardbirds’ decades-long saga begins, the band has announced initial dates for a stateside spring tour.  The group’s itinerary currently features seven dates, all in the northeastern U.S., running from an April 3 show in Norfolk, Connecticut, through an April 12 performance in Newton, New Jersey.  More shows will be added soon.