4KQ 693AM
Good Times & Great Classic Hits

Now Playing:

Listen on

Steve Smith And David Warner Banned For Twelve Months

Several news outlets with close connections to Cricket Australia are reporting that captain Steve Smith and his vice-captain David Warner will be banned from playing for Australia for 12 months.

It's believed the pair will be banned from all forms of the game excluding local grade cricket.

The ABC's chief cricket commentator Jim Maxwell told 7.30, "I understand that the sanctions on Smith and Warner are a ban for 12 months"

"For Smith and Warner that would mean they would come back in to play as it would in the lead-up to the World Cup next year and the Ashes."

"So you would think that would put them out of the reckoning for selection."

"But that is the word as I understand it. And Steve Smith will be out for that period of time — the same as Warner, the same penalty — even though it appears the instigator was Warner, but Smith bears the burden as the captain of the team."

"He's been told he must front a media conference in Sydney. They have got a place organised for him," he said.

Cricket Australia (CA) is expected to confirm the penalties for all three players late Wednesday evening.

CA head James Sutherland said this morning that all three layers are being sent home.

The scandal erupted when Bancroft was caught on camera using tape to doctor the ball in the third Test against South Africa in Cape Town.

Darren Lehmann will stay on as coach, despite media reports he was set to resign over the ball-tampering incident.

Wicket-keeper Tim Paine takes over as captain, while Matthew Renshaw, Glenn Maxwell and Joe Burns have been named as replacements for Smith, Warner and Bancroft.

Share this: